Article by Julia Christ

Born in Germany, from which she fled to London, the narrator of “The Appointment” pours out her heart while being examined by her gynecologist, Dr. Seligman. Resolutely provocative, mixing sexual fantasies about Hitler with sharp insights into our contemporary society, the novel is a satirical parable over which the shadow of Philip Roth, Woody Allen and Thomas Bernhardt hovers.

The anti-vax and anti-sanitary pass demonstrations, where yellow stars flourish, are the social movement of the summer, in France as in Europe. For Julia Christ, it is not the “anti-system” rear-guard of society that is expressing itself through the gesture of hijacking this historical symbol, but rather a kind of hyper-individualist and ultra-liberal avant-garde.

The Humboldt Forum’s vocation is to host exhibitions on non-European cultures. But this ethnographic museum is now at the center of a controversy over the ownership of artworks and objects obtained during the German colonial empire in Africa and Asia. In this interview with the art historian Horst Bredekamp, we wanted to learn more about a forgotten German ethnographic tradition – and in particular about the contribution of Jewish scholars and collectors within this tradition.

Does the Holocauste constitute a unique crime that marks a turning point in European history? Or should we count it just as another crime that is not extraordinary in itself?…

With the support of:

Thanks to the Paris office of the Heinrich Böll Foundation for their cooperation in the design of the magazine’s website.

Tous les articles de Julia Christ

Les manifestations antivax et contre le passe sanitaire où fleurissent les étoiles jaunes sont le mouvement social de l’été, en France comme en Europe. Pour Julia Christ, ce n’est pas l’arrière-garde « antisystème » de la société qui s’exprime par le geste de détournement de ce symbole historique mais bien au contraire une sorte d’avant-garde hyper-individualiste et ultralibérale.

La vocation du Forum Humboldt est d’accueillir des expositions sur les cultures non européennes. Mais ce musée ethnographique est aujourd’hui au cœur d’une controverse concernant la propriété d’œuvres d’art et d’objet obtenus à l’époque de l’empire colonial allemand en Afrique et en Asie. Nous avons voulu, dans cet entretien avec l’historien d’art Horst Bredekamp, en savoir davantage sur une tradition ethnographique allemande oubliée – et en particulier sur la contribution des savants et collectionneurs juifs au sein de cette tradition.

La Shoah constitue-t-elle un crime d’une nature absolument singulière faisant césure dans l’histoire de l’Europe ou faut-il ne la compter que comme un crime parmi d’autres, n’ayant à ce titre rien d’extraordinaire ? Cette question a départagé, il y a plus de trente ans, l’intelligentsia allemande en une droite conservatrice et une gauche libérale. On la croyait tranchée. Apparemment, il n’en est rien…

Avec le soutien de :

Merci au bureau de Paris de la Fondation Heinrich Böll pour leur coopération dans la conception du site de la revue.

Merci au mahJ de nous permettre d’utiliser sa photothèque, avec le voyage visuel dans l’histoire du judaïsme qu’elle rend possible.