Article by David Haziza

David Nirenberg’s Anti-Judaism: The Western Tradition proved an instant classic of Jewish studies on its publication a decade ago. Nirenberg, Director of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, presents anti-Judaism as a structural discourse in the history of the West (and arguably in the history of the world at large). The figure of the “Jew,” and the bugbear of “Judaism,” he maintains, have served as epistemic tools for philosophers and theologians to define themselves – and Western civilization – over and against. In such a scheme, Judaism morphs from religion into foil, the Jew from living being into abstraction; and even societies hosting few or no Jews can entertain “Jewish questions.” Nirenberg’s study starts in the Egypt of the Hellenistic Period and ends in our own time.

Most of the characters in the film Les Rois de l’arnaque (The Lords of Scam) – broadcast by Netflix, where this documentary met with great success and fascination – share one thing in common: they are Jewish. By looking back at the trajectory of its various protagonists, David Haziza examines the question of Jewish criminality and the sinuous paths of social ascension.

While Proust was not raised in the Jewish religion, much of his education bore the imprint of a social and cultural Judaism. But can he be read as a Jewish writer? Can we detect the influences of the Talmud or Kabbalah in his opus, In Search of Lost Time (French: A la Recherche du temps perdu)?

Would the prohibition of ritual slaughter jeopardize the very existence of a European Judaism? What is at stake goes beyond the simple comfort of the Jewish community: it is the durability of the pact linking Jews to the continent that is at stake. Beyond that, the identity of Europe and the place it intends to give, in the twenty-first century, to its own Hebrew roots are at stake. Here is the second part of David Haziza’s essay on ‘shehita’ in Europe.

A marginal or minimal problem for some, a barbaric custom that should be modernized for others, ritual slaughter is one of the pillars of Jewish life. Requiring the stunning of animals prior to killing is not contrary to the law, the European Court of Justice concluded in a recent ruling. Is ritual slaughter compatible with Europe? David Haziza asks this question in an essay published by K. in two parts.

With the support of:

Thanks to the Paris office of the Heinrich Böll Foundation for their cooperation in the design of the magazine’s website.

Tous les articles de David Haziza

‘Anti-Judaism – The Western Tradition’ de David Nirenberg marque un tournant dans le domaine des études juives. Son objet n’est pas tant l’étude des Juifs eux-mêmes, ou même de l’antisémitisme, que celle d’une structure qui, à travers les siècles, utilise le judaïsme comme une sorte de repoussoir. Le monde est vu sous la menace du « judaïsme », c’est-à-dire d’une « manière de penser, d’interpréter le réel fausse, corrompue, et même mortifère ». En ce sens, n’importe qui peut être « juif » et l’antijudaïsme ne nécessite pas la présence réelle de Juifs. Pour Nirenberg, c’est toute la pensée occidentale qui est ainsi structurée. Si les Juifs ne sont pas si nombreux (ni si puissants), l’antijudaïsme, lui, est bien partout : il est au cœur de la tradition occidentale et islamique.

La plupart des personnages du film les Rois de l’arnaque – diffusé par Netflix, où ce documentaire a rencontré un grand succès et suscité la fascination – partagent un point commun : ils sont Juifs. En revenant sur la trajectoire de ses différents protagonistes, David Haziza s’interroge sur la criminalité juive et les chemins sinueux de l’ascension sociale.

Bien que Proust n’ait pas été élevé dans la religion juive, une bonne partie de son éducation fut culturellement et socialement juive. Mais peut-il pour autant être lu comme un écrivain juif ? Y a-t-il quelque chose du Talmud ou de la Kabbale à trouver dans À la recherche du temps perdu ?

L’interdiction de l’abattage rituel ne mettrait-il pas en péril l’existence même d’un judaïsme européen ? L’enjeu dépasse le simple confort de la communauté juive : c’est de la pérennité du pacte liant les juifs à la nation qu’il s’agit. Au-delà se jouent l’identité de l’Europe et la place qu’elle entend donner, au XXIe siècle, à ses propres racines hébraïques. Suite de l’essai pour K. de David Haziza sur la shehita en Europe.

Problème marginal ou futile pour les uns, coutume barbare qu’il conviendrait de moderniser pour les autres, l’abattage rituel est l’un des piliers de la vie juive. Imposer l’étourdissement préalable des bêtes n’est pas contraire au droit, a pourtant conclu la Cour de justice de l’Union dans un arrêt récent. L’abattage rituel est-il européano-compatible ? Première partie d’un essai de David Haziza.

Avec le soutien de :

Merci au bureau de Paris de la Fondation Heinrich Böll pour leur coopération dans la conception du site de la revue.

Merci au mahJ de nous permettre d’utiliser sa photothèque, avec le voyage visuel dans l’histoire du judaïsme qu’elle rend possible.