Article by Liam Hoare

In 2015, the British Prime Minister David Cameron announced the construction of a new Holocaust memorial and world-class learning center. Since then, the project has been racking up delays and stirring up various controversies. Journalist Liam Hoare investigated this project for K. and, more broadly, the issues of Holocaust remembrance policy in Britain.

A Jewish student organization, generation after generation, has become an important voice in the Austrian national public debate, even to the point of swaying governments. Tracing the activism of the Austrian Union of Jewish Students (JÖH) from its start to its latest iterations, Liam Hoare’s article tells how their activism confronts the reality of Austrian history and how it challenges the national narrative, recalling the memory of the victims of Nazi crimes and the responsibilities of those who committed them.

Last year, a collective of Viennese artists and activists rekindled the debate over the statue of Karl Lueger, the anti-Semitic mayor of the Christian Social Party in the Austrian capital between 1897 and 1910, whom Hitler considered to be one of the greatest “German mayors of all time”. Liam Hoare revisits for K. this memorial dispute, which still agitates Vienna’s political life to this very day.

With the support of:

Thanks to the Paris office of the Heinrich Böll Foundation for their cooperation in the design of the magazine’s website.

Tous les articles de Liam Hoare

En 2015, le Premier ministre britannique d’alors, David Cameron, a annoncé la construction d’un nouveau mémorial de la Shoah et d’un centre d’apprentissage de classe mondial. Depuis, le projet accumule les retards et suscite différentes polémiques. Le journaliste Liam Hoare a enquêté pour K. sur ce projet et, plus largement, sur les enjeux de la politique de mémoire de la Shoah en Grande-Bretagne. 

Une organisation étudiante juive, génération après génération, est devenue un acteur important du débat public national autrichien, jusqu’à faire vaciller les gouvernements. Remontant des origines de L’Union autrichienne des étudiants juifs (JÖH) à leurs derniers coups d’éclat, le texte de Liam Hoare raconte comment leur activisme se confronte à la réalité de l’histoire autrichienne et comment il défie le récit national, rappelant la mémoires des victimes des crimes nazis et les responsabilités de ceux qui les ont commis.

Un collectif d’artistes et de militants viennois a ravivé l’année dernière le débat autour de la statue de Karl Lueger, maire antisémite du parti Chrétien-Social de la capitale autrichienne entre 1897 et 1910, que Hitler considérait comme l’un des plus grands « maires allemands de tous les temps ». Liam Hoare revient pour K. sur cette querelle mémorielle, qui agite encore à ce jour la vie politique de Vienne.

Avec le soutien de :

Merci au bureau de Paris de la Fondation Heinrich Böll pour leur coopération dans la conception du site de la revue.

Merci au mahJ de nous permettre d’utiliser sa photothèque, avec le voyage visuel dans l’histoire du judaïsme qu’elle rend possible.