Samuel Schwarzbard

1926, in Paris. Samuel Schwarzbard murdered Petlioura, the Ukrainian military officer and politician responsible for the pogroms that killed tens of thousands of Jews between 1919 and 1920. The affair, now forgotten, had a huge echo in France at the time. Indirectly, it was also at the origin of the creation of the current LICRA, one of France major antiracist organization. Philosopher Elisabeth de Fontenay revisits the story of a man who, before the Shoah, wanted to avenge the murdered Jews, and whose gesture was the origin of a desire for Jewish self-defense in the four corners of Europe.

 

Samuel Schwarzbard

 

« If one is attacked as a Jew, one must defend oneself as a Jew. » Hannah Arendt

 

Paris, rue Racine, near boulevard Saint Michel, May 25, 1926, at 2:15 p.m., a craftsman in a white coat calls out to a passer-by whom he had been waiting for a year, asking him twice if he is Petlioura. He then shouts, “Murderer! This is for the massacres, this is for the pogroms!”, and shoots five times at the man, who has turned to face him. He turns himself over immediately to the police, declaring: “I killed a murderer.” 

The man was tried in October 1927. His attorney Henri Torres presented three accounts of the deceased individual’s atrocities, the number that the tribunal’s chief judge had asked for[1]. But Torres had more than 80 potential witnesses from Russia and Ukraine to call on. Torres’ defense convinced the jury, who voted unanimously to acquit the assailant. Innocent and murderer, he was named Schwartzbard, Samuel Schwartzbard[2]. But he went by the diminutive of Scholem, which is how his attorney referred to him. He was born in 1888 in Izmail, and grew up in Balta, the Ukrainian town where several pogroms took place in 1882, 1905, 1917, and finally, in 1919; this last time it was Petlioura who orchestrated the violence against Jews.

“I have opened,” he wrote, “a new chapter in our dark and bloody age-old story: enough slavery, enough shedding of tears, let us cease to implore, to cry, to suborn!” This assassination was indeed an act of vigilantism; Schwartzbard was overcome by the victimization of his people. But this was also a call for emancipation and a publicity stunt. Scholem Schwartzbard had decided, with dramatic flair, to show France, the cradle of human rights, how the troops commanded by Ataman[3]General Petliura, “chief executioner or chief of executioners,”[4] under the guise of defending Ukrainian independence against the Soviet armies, had tortured, raped and killed nearly 100,000 Jews. Petliura and his Ukrainian National Army were responsible for dozens of organized massacres of Jews. Orinin, five people murdered; Brazlav, 82 people; Odorkhov, 700 killed and 800 wounded, the pogrom having lasted twelve hours; Proskourov under the command of Ataman Semessenko, assisted by the brigade of Zaporogues Cossacks commanded by Ataman Petliura, without counting the massacres perpetrated by his generals. The more the Ukrainian armies fighting against the Bolsheviks were defeated, the more Petliura’s men took revenge on the Jews. During 1919-20, up to 905  “pogromized” localities were counted…

“In December 1925,” Schwartzbard declared at his trial, “I learned from a friend that two officers of the White Army had boasted, one of them of having subjected thirty-seven Jewish women to the greatest outrages, and the other of having killed fifteen Jews with a sword in the same day (…) A few days later, I learned that the former ataman Petlioura was in Paris, so I went in search of him.”[5] The author of this act of vengeance claimed to be a Zionist, anarchist and French at the same time. Today, we find this difficult to understand because we forget that libertarian Zionism, theorized by Bernard Lazare, an anarchist and the first Dreyfusard, did not advocate the idea of a Jewish state, but that of a Jewish nation. After wandering through Central Europe, Schwartzbard joined France’s Foreign Legion in 1914, took part in the fighting on the Somme and was then incorporated into a line infantry regiment. Badly wounded at Verdun, he was cited in the order of the day and decorated with the War Cross. He was discharged in 1917. He left us with a detailed and lucid account of those years. And without a doubt, his status as serviceman and wounded soldier counted a lot for the jurors who acquitted him.

October 18, 1927: The crowd in front of the court awaits the opening of the trial

After the war’s end, Schwartzbard returned to Russia, where he stayed until 1920. According to his account, he helped the Bolsheviks wrest Odessa from anti-revolutionary forces, as well as requisitioning housing and food for destitute children and families caught in the middle of the conflict. He was a direct witness to several of the pogroms of the terrible year 1919, during which fifteen members of his family were murdered by the haidamaks, these militias composed of Cossacks and Ukrainian peasants, commanded by the ataman. Back in France, in 1920, he settled in Paris where he worked as a watchmaker on the boulevard de Ménilmontant. There he is in a peaceful photo alongside wife Anna and dog César, the three posing in front of his store. But, despite his naturalization in 1925, he could not be “happy like God in France.” He could not forget the gruesome fate of his family in Ukraine. This is why, in a stark and theatrical gesture, he would unfurl the flag of resistance, a response to the crimes of some and the indifference of many. Petliura, as president of the Ukraine Directory, commander of troops and a notorious pogromist, was seen as an emblematic figure of anti-Jewish violence. He had not ceased his activities once in exile in France, publishing the nationalist and antisemitic journal Le Trident. 

An insidious campaign tried from the beginning to persuade democrats that Petliura was the victim of a terrible injustice, that he was in fact a philosemite, as he would have proved by appointing a Jew as a member of his board, and that, moreover, he was planning to emancipate later those whom the tsars had forced to live in the Pale of Settlement. This campaign has taken an official turn since the Ukrainian government erected a monument in 2006 to a man considered by many of his compatriots as a hero of national independence slain by Communists.. With the blessing of the French authorities, a scandalous ceremony of homage, from which journalists were excluded, took place in May 2006 at the tomb of the Unknown Soldier to honor the eightieth anniversary of the death of the pogromist. 

The Ukrainians continue to suggest that Schwartzbard belonged to the Bolshevik secret service and that he acted on orders. Many French Jews, and not only the dignitaries of officialdom, were not insensitive to the anti-Communist frenzy which attributed the assassination of Petliura to an order from Moscow and thus robbed the modest Jewish and libertarian craftsman of its authorship. No one will deny that Schwartzbard was, in his Russian years, an anarchist and a communist. He never hid this fact, but his autobiographical writings are undoubtedly selective. It seems that in August 1917, on the French boat that took him to Russia, he was arrested for Communist agitation and handed over to the tsarist authorities in Arkhangelsk. He then managed to reach Petrograd, where he served in the Red Guard and then in a special battalion of the Cheka, sent to Ukraine. In 1919, he commanded a special Jewish cavalry brigade of 90 men under the orders of a communist leader.

And he was no angel in his youth. He had taken part in the Russian revolution of 1905, and in 1909, with anarchists, he had robbed a bank in Vienna. Sentenced to hard labor, he escaped after four months in prison. Then he committed another robbery in a restaurant in Budapest, after which, expelled from the Austro-Hungarian Empire, he found refuge in France in 1910, at the age of 24. It should be noted that the jury did not even consider these old convictions. 

Schwartzbard, standing in the center, during his trial

Schwartzbard was undoubtedly, in his own way, always so tender toward his persecuted people, a hero of Red Cavalry, Isaac Babel’s story. But he quickly broke away – he explains this in his writings – from “the Bolshevik dictatorship of Lenin and Trotsky” that suffocated the anarchists and the workers’ councils and replaced them with “trigger-happy epigones.” And the dangerous revolutionary, back in France, was content to support an anarchist Zionist association and to be active in the League of Human Rights. It is therefore, on a double ethical and political level, incorrect, even historical malpractice, to deny the almost childlike purity of the killing he committed.

The murder, and even more so the acquittal, had a huge impact on many Jews who had fled the pogroms and were about to flee the rise of Nazism. This was not a news item, but a “founding crime”[6] which, in a way, became an example to follow. On February 4, 1936, David Frankfurter murdered Wilhelm Gustloff, an activist of the Swiss Nazi party, in Davos and was sentenced to 18 years in prison by the court in Chur. Herschel Grynszpan, on November 7, 1938, assassinated German embassy official Ernst vom Rath and was handed over by the Vichy police to the Nazis. The character was a bit off-kilter, but he too wanted to avenge his parents who had been expelled from a German town and deprived of means. His act would serve as a pretext for the outbreak of Kristallnacht. And then, of course, there was Marcel Rayman, an FTP resistance fighter of the MOI, the Immigrant Workforce, who was shot at Mont Valérien after having committed several attacks against the Occupation troops in France. 

But this model of direct action also inspired emancipated intellectuals who saw in it the awakening of a new mentality, of what they called at the time a “regeneration.” Inspired by Schwartzbard’s words and writings, and nourished by the testimonies given at the trial, both Jewish and non-Jewish protests went further, sometimes with a certain anti-Jewish equivocation, by denouncing the passivity, backwardness, Torah and mores of the ghetto. And the journalist Bernard Lecache, of Ukrainian Jewish origin, on the heels of Petliura’s murder in February 1929,  founded the LICA, the League Against Antisemitism. His magazine, Le Droit de vivre, was committed to the left and called on Jews to defend themselves against “anti-Jewish excesses,” that is to say, to take illegal action: “One day,” he wrote, “I woke up a Jew, and it was because the sound of Schwartzbard’s browning had resounded in my conscience. Let us understand, where we never understand! Jewish, that is to say, freed from my insidious fears, that is to say, freed from my ‘assimilated’ prejudices. I had taken the side of my origins (…) Since the little watchmaker from Ménilmontant had accomplished what I should perhaps have accomplished, my quiet duty as an honest man placed me at his side to take, with him, the heavy and necessary responsibilities of his gesture.”[7] It should be remembered that many of the leaders of the Jewish Resistance in France were active in the LICA.

By a curious turn that homonymy seems to have played in history, another Schwarzbardt, named André Schwartz-Bart, would become known to the general public. Yiddish was his mother tongue as it was that of Samuel. He won the Goncourt Prize in 1954 for an admirable book, The Last of the Just, a hymn to the patience and gentleness that Jews have shown from age to age to their persecutors. Barely twenty years in the twentieth century separate the hundred thousand that Scholem avenged and the six million that haunted André. 


Élisabeth de Fontenay

Notes

1 Henri Torrès, Le Procès des pogromes, Ressouvenance, Coeuvres et Valsery, 2010.
2 The name is sometimes written Schwartzbard, sometimes Schwarzbard.
3 Ataman was the title of a chief who fulfilled political and military functions among the Cossacks and haidamaks.
4 Emmanuel Debono, « La régénération de l’identité juive par la lutte contre l’antisémitisme dans les années 30 » in Les cahiers du judaïsme, 2008, n°24.
5 Samuel Schwartzbard, Mémoires d’un anarchiste juif, présentées et préfacées par Michel Herman, éditions Syllepse, mars 2010, p 255.
6 Ibid.
7 Quoted by Emmnuel Debono in Les cahiers du judaïsme, 2008, n°24.

Support us!

You can help us
Donate

With the support of:

Thanks to the Paris office of the Heinrich Böll Foundation for their cooperation in the design of the magazine’s website.

Samuel Schwarzbard

1926, à Paris. Samuel Schwarzbard assassine Petlioura, militaire et homme politique ukrainien responsable des pogroms qui, entre 1919 et 1920, firent des dizaines de milliers de morts juifs. L’affaire, aujourd’hui oubliée, a un immense écho dans la France d’alors. Indirectement, elle est aussi à l’origine de la création de l’actuelle LICRA. Élisabeth de Fontenay revient sur l’histoire d’un homme qui, avant la Shoah, voulut venger les Juifs assassinés, et dont le geste fut à l’origine d’un désir d’auto-défense juive aux quatre coins de l’Europe.

 

Samuel Schwarzbard

 

« Lorsqu’on est attaqué en qualité de juif, c’est en tant que juif que l’on doit se défendre. » Hannah Arendt

 

Paris, rue Racine, près du boulevard Saint-Michel, le 25 mai 1926, à quatorze heures quinze, un artisan en blouse blanche interpelle un passant que depuis un an il attendait de pied ferme, et lui demande à deux reprises s’il est bien Petlioura. Puis, en criant « Assassin ! voilà pour les massacres, voilà pour les pogromes ! », il tire à cinq reprises sur l’homme qui s’est retourné vers lui. Le meurtrier se rend immédiatement aux policiers auxquels il déclare : « j’ai tué un assassin. ». En octobre 1927, il sera jugé : l’avocat Henri Torres qui, se contentant des trois témoignages sollicités par le président du tribunal, avait pris le risque de ne pas présenter à la cour ses quatre-vingts témoins venus de Russie et d’Ukraine, le défendra en une plaidoirie admirable[1] : les jurés de la cour d’assises l’acquitteront à l’unanimité. Cet innocent, ce meurtrier se nomme Schwartzbard[2] : prénom Samuel, mais il signe du diminutif Scholem et c’est ainsi que son avocat l’interpelle amicalement. Il est né en 1888 à Izmaïl, il a grandi à Balta, cette ville d’Ukraine où, en 1882, 1905, 1917 avaient eu lieu plusieurs pogromes et où, en 1919, avait sévi l’homme qui tomba sous ses balles.

« J’ai ouvert, écrivit-il, un nouveau chapitre dans notre sombre et sanglante histoire millénaire : assez d’esclavage, assez versé de larmes, cessons d’implorer, de crier, de suborner ! » Cet assassinat en effet, c’était à la fois un acte de justicier, éperdu de piété envers les martyrs de son peuple et un appel à l’émancipation. Mais c’était aussi un geste politique de divulgation. Car Scholem Schwartzbard avait décidé de révéler spectaculairement à la France, patrie des droits de l’homme, comment les troupes commandées par l’ataman[3] général Petlioura, « bourreau en chef ou chef des bourreaux »[4], sous couvert de défendre l’indépendance ukrainienne contre les armées soviétiques, avaient torturé, violé et tué près de 100.000 Juifs. Des dizaines de massacres organisés de juifs sont à mettre à l’actif de Petlioura et de son armée nationale ukrainienne. Orinin, cinq personnes assassinées; Brazlav, 82 personnes; Odorkhov, 700 tués et 800 blessés, le pogrome ayant duré douze heures ; Proskourov sous le commandement de l’ataman Semessenko, assisté de la brigade des cosaques zaporogues commandés par l’ataman Petlioura, sans compter les massacres perpétrés par ses généraux. Plus les défaites des armées ukrainienne se battant contre les bolcheviques s’accumulaient, plus les hommes de Petlioura se vengeaient sur les juifs. On a compté, durant les années 19-20, jusqu’à neuf cent cinq localités « pogromisées »…

« En décembre 1925, déclara Schwartzbard à son procès, j’appris par un ami que deux officiers de l’armée blanche s’étaient vantés, l’un d’avoir fait subir les derniers outrages à trente sept femmes juives, l’autre d’avoir tué à coups de sabre dans la même journée quinze juifs. (…) Quelques jours plus tard, j’appris que l’ancien ataman Petlioura était à Paris, alors je me mis à sa recherche »[5]. L’auteur de cet acte de vengeance se réclamait à la fois du sionisme, de l’anarchie et de la France, ce qu’aujourd’hui nous avons peine à comprendre car nous oublions que le sionisme libertaire, théorisé par Bernard Lazare, anarchiste et premier dreyfusard, ne défendait pas l’idée d’un État juif, mais celle d’une nation juive. Après une errance à travers l’Europe centrale, Schwartzbard s’était dès 1914 engagé dans la Légion étrangère, avait pris part aux combats de la Somme puis avait été incorporé dans un régiment d’infanterie de ligne. Grièvement blessé à Verdun, cité à l’ordre du jour et décoré de la croix de guerre, il avait été réformé en 1917. Nous avons gardé de lui un récit minutieux, lucide de ces années là. Et sans aucun doute, son titre d’engagé volontaire et de blessé de guerre a beaucoup compté pour les jurés qui l’ont acquitté.

18 octobre 1927 : La foule devant le tribunal attend l’ouverture du procès

Puis Schwartzbard retourne en Russie d’où il ne repartira qu’en 1920. Il s’emploie alors, selon son récit, à organiser militairement les bolcheviks afin d’arracher Odessa aux forces anti révolutionnaires, à réquisitionner locaux et vivres pour les enfants démunis et à porter secours aux rescapés qui affluent. Il est le témoin direct de plusieurs des pogromes de la terrible année 1919, au cours de laquelle quinze personnes de sa famille sont assassinées par les haïdamaks, ces milices composées de cosaques et de paysans ukrainiens, commandées par les ataman. De retour en France, en 1920, il s’installe à Paris où il exerce son métier d’horloger, boulevard de Ménilmontant. Il existe une paisible photo de lui-même, de sa femme Anna et de son chien César, posant devant sa boutique. Mais, en dépit de sa naturalisation en 1925, il ne parvient pas à être « heureux comme Dieu en France », car il n’oublie rien du destin effroyable des siens en Ukraine. C’est pourquoi, dans un geste irréversible et théâtral, il va, face au crime des uns et à l’indifférence des autres, hisser farouchement le drapeau de la résistance en exécutant celui qui, en tant que président du Directoire ukrainien, commandant des troupes et pogromiste notoire, endossait à ses yeux comme à ceux de tous les juifs d’Ukraine une responsabilité à la fois personnelle et emblématique. En exil à Paris, Petlioura n’avait du reste pas désarmé, éditant un journal nationaliste et antisémite, Le Trident.

Une campagne insidieuse a tenté dès le début de persuader les démocrates que Petlioura pâtissait d’une terrible injustice, qu’il était en réalité philosémite, comme il l’aurait prouvé en nommant un Juif membre de son directoire et que, de surcroît, il envisageait d’émanciper ultérieurement ceux que les tsars avaient astreints à résidence dans le sud de la Russie. Cette campagne a pris un tour officiel depuis que le gouvernement ukrainien a élevé en 2006 un monument à celui que le peuple considère comme le héros de son indépendance nationale et comme une victime des communistes. Avec la bénédiction des autorités françaises, une scandaleuse cérémonie d’hommage d’où furent exclus les journalistes eut lieu, en mai 2006, sur le tombeau du soldat inconnu, pour honorer le quatre-vingtième anniversaire de la mort du pogromiste.

Des Ukrainiens continuent à suggérer en effet, que Schwartzbard appartenait aux services secrets bolcheviks et qu’il avait agi sur ordre. Beaucoup de Français israélites, et pas seulement les dignitaires du Consistoire, ne furent pas insensibles à l’intoxication anticommuniste qui imputait l’assassinat de Petlioura à un ordre venu de Moscou et volait donc au modeste artisan juif et libertaire la paternité de son crime. Personne ne niera que Schwartzbard fut, dans ses années russes, anarchiste et communiste. Il ne s’en est jamais caché mais ses écrits autobiographiques sont sans doute sélectifs. Car il semble qu’en août 1917, sur le bateau français qui l’emmenait en Russie, il ait été arrêté pour agitation communiste et livré aux autorités tsaristes d’Arkhangelsk. Il aurait ensuite réussi à gagner Pétrograd, où il aurait servi dans la Garde rouge puis dans un bataillon spécial de la Tchéka, envoyé en Ukraine. En 1919, il aurait commandé une brigade spéciale de cavalerie juive de quatre-vingt-dix hommes sous les ordres d’un leader communiste.

Il faut reconnaître que sa jeunesse n’avait pas été celle d’un enfant de chœur. Il avait pris part à la révolution russe de 1905, et il avait en 1909, avec des anarchistes, braqué une banque à Vienne. Condamné aux travaux forcés, il s’était évadé après quatre mois de détention. Puis il avait commis un nouveau braquage dans un restaurant de Budapest, à la suite duquel, expulsé de l’Empire austro-hongrois, il avait trouvé refuge en France en 1910, à l’âge de 24 ans. Il faut noter que les jurés d’assises n’ont même pas envisagé de tenir compte de ces anciennes condamnations.

Schwartzbard, debout au centre, durant son procès

Schwartzbard fut sans doute, à sa façon propre, toujours si tendre vis-à-vis de son peuple persécuté, un héros de Cavalerie rouge, le récit d’Isaac Babel. Mais il rompit très vite – il s’en explique dans ses écrits – avec « la dictature bolchevique de Lénine et de Trotski » qui étouffait les anarchistes et les conseils ouvriers pour leur substituer des « épigones fusilleurs ». Et le dangereux révolutionnaire, revenu en France, ne se contentait plus que de soutenir une association anarchiste sioniste et de militer à la Ligue des Droits de l’Homme. C’est donc, sur un double plan éthique et politique, une mauvaise action, c’est même une falsification que de priver son acte de la pureté presque enfantine qu’il y a mise.

Le meurtre et plus encore l’acquittement eurent un retentissement immense chez de nombreux juifs qui avaient fui les pogroms, et allaient fuir la montée du nazisme. Ce ne fut pas là un fait divers mais un « crime fondateur »[6] qui, en quelque sorte, devint comme un exemple à suivre. David Frankfurter assassinera le 4 février 1936, à Davos, Wilhelm Gustloff, activiste du parti nazi suisse, et sera condamné à 18 ans de prison par la cour de Coire. Herschel Grynszpan, le 7 novembre 1938, assassinera le secrétaire d’ambassade Ernst vom Rath et sera livré par la police vichyste aux nazis. Le personnage était un peu trouble, mais lui aussi voulait venger ses parents expulsés d’une ville allemande et privés de ressources. Son acte servira de prétexte au déclenchement de la Nuit de Cristal. Et puis bien sûr, il y aura Marcel Rayman, résistant FTP de la MOI, la Main-d’œuvre immigrée, qui fut fusillé au Mont Valérien après avoir commis plusieurs attentats contre les troupes d’Occupation.

Mais ce modèle de l’action directe inspira aussi des intellectuels émancipés qui y virent l’éveil d’une nouvelle mentalité, de ce qu’ils appelaient à l’époque une « régénération ». Inspirées par les paroles et les écrits de Schwartzbard, nourries des témoignages apportés au procès, les protestations tant juives que non juives renchérissaient, dans une certaine équivoque antijudaïque parfois, en dénonçant la passivité, l’arriération, la Torah et les mœurs du ghetto. Et le journaliste Bernard Lecache, d’origine juive ukrainienne, se réclama de l’assassin de Petlioura pour, en février 1929, dans la foulée de la Ligue contre les Pogromes, fonder la LICA, la Ligue Contre l’Antisémitisme. Sa revue, Le Droit de vivre, engagée à gauche, appelait les Juifs à l’autodéfense contre les « excès antijuifs », c’est-à-dire à l’action illégale « Un jour, écrivait-il, je me réveillai juif, et c’était parce que le bruit du browning de Schwartzbard avait retenti dans ma conscience. Que l’on comprenne, là où justement on ne comprend jamais ! Juif, c’est-à-dire libéré de mes peurs sournoises, c’est-à-dire affranchi de mes préjugés ‘d’assimilé’. J’avais pris le parti de mes origines. (…) Puisque le petit horloger de Ménilmontant avait accompli ce que j’aurais dû, peut-être, accomplir, mon devoir tranquille d’honnête homme me rangeait à ses côtés pour prendre, avec lui, les responsabilités lourdes et nécessaires de son geste »[7]. Il faut rappeler que beaucoup des responsables de la Résistance juive en France auront milité à la LICA.

Par un curieux tour que l’homonymie semble avoir joué à l’histoire, un autre Schwarzbardt, prénommé André, se fera connaître du grand public. Le yiddish était sa langue maternelle comme elle fut celle de Samuel. Il obtiendra le prix Goncourt en 1954 pour un livre admirable, Le Dernier des Justes, hymne à la patience et à la douceur que les Juifs ont opposées d’âge en âge à leurs persécuteurs. Entre les cent mille que venge Scholem et les six millions qui hantent l’écriture d’André, à peine vingt ans de ce siècle.


Élisabeth de Fontenay

Notes

1 Henri Torrès, Le Procès des pogromes, Ressouvenance, Coeuvres et Valsery, 2010.
2 Le nom est écrit tantôt Schwartzbard, tantôt Schwarzbard.
3 Ataman était le titre d’un chef qui remplissant des fonctions politiques et militaires chez les Cosaques et chez les haïdamaks.
4 Emmanuel Debono, « La régénération de l’identité juive par la lutte contre l’antisémitisme dans les années 30 » dans Les cahiers du judaïsme, 2008, n°24.
5 Samuel Schwartzbard, Mémoires d’un anarchiste juif, présentées et préfacées par Michel Herman, éditions Syllepse, mars 2010, p 255.
6 Ibid.
7 Cité par Emmnuel Debono dans Les cahiers du judaïsme, 2008, n°24.

Soutenez-nous !

Le site fonctionne grâce à vos dons, vous pouvez nous aider
Faire un don

Avec le soutien de :

Merci au bureau de Paris de la Fondation Heinrich Böll pour leur coopération dans la conception du site de la revue.

Merci au mahJ de nous permettre d’utiliser sa photothèque, avec le voyage visuel dans l’histoire du judaïsme qu’elle rend possible.