A. B. Yehoshua

In Memoriam

Yehoshua died on Tuesday, June 14, at the age of 85. We feel that we are nearing the end of an era. The one of Aharon Appelfeld (1932-2018), Amos Oz (1938-2018) and A.B. Yehoshua (1936-2022), who embodied a generation of Israeli literature. They were not only great writers. This generation also represented the moral conscience of a nation that they saw come to birth.

Beryl Caizzi, who wrote a text for K. based on Yehoshua’s The Liberated Bride — to be read HERE — sends us a letter in tribute to this writer she loves.

 

Yehoshua standing on the roofs of Rome

 

“Men are very generally spoiled by being so civil and well-disposed. You can have no profitable conversation with them, they are so conciliatory, determined to agree with you. They exhibit such a long-suffering and kindness in a short interview. I would meet with some provoking strangeness, so that we may be guest and host and refresh one another. It is possible for a man wholly to disappear and be merged on his manners. The thousand and one gentlemen whom I meet, I meet despairingly and but to part from them, for I am not cheered by the hope of any rudeness from them. A cross man, an eccentric man, a man who does not drill well, – of him there is some hope“.

H. D. Thoreau, Journal, 1851.

 

The writer Avraham B. Yehoshua died on Tuesday June 14, in Israel, at the age of eighty-five.

It is difficult to give an eulogy, even a funeral eulogy, to a man who tried so little to please and almost systematically regards as his task to brush history against the grain.

Like the Israeli president, prime minister and minister of culture, we could focus exclusively on his literary talents, recalling the number of languages into which his novels have been translated, the many prizes he has received.

A Zionist and an Arabist, a champion of marriage and the family and an outspoken feminist, a polyglot and cosmopolitan writer and a critic of the diaspora, Yehoshua did not allow himself to be put into any one box. Already in his old age, he even renounced the idea he had defended for decades, “the two-state solution”, to promote “a common state” for Israelis and Palestinians, a shift that led to a dispute with his lifelong friend, Amos Oz.

And yet, none of these postures, none of these statements seem to be the result of a taste for provocation, media exposure or the fashions of the moment. Like the characters in his novels, Yehoshua seeks tirelessly: he seeks to understand the causes of intimate and collective conflicts, he seeks the truth of beings, he seeks solutions and this, until his last breath. Whether or not one shares the conclusions of his research, such perseverance, such obstinacy in questioning, compels admiration.

Whether he lends his pen to a young Israeli Arab in The Lover, whether he praises the pious Jews who allow a deserter to flee the front, or whether one of his characters, an old professor, argues on the phone with a vacuum cleaner salesman who asks to speak to his wife and refuses to praise the qualities of a product of which he is, however, the main user in his household, the reader never doubts the truthfulness of the subject.

Yehoshua does not seem to feel the need to restrict, to polish, to produce a coherent and transparent whole. In doing so, without ever proposing easy identification schemes, he offers an incomparable freedom to the reader, the freedom of diving into the plurality of worlds.

I am writing from Italy, a country that Yehoshua considered his second home and where his non-Israeli readers were most numerous. His latest novel, The Only Daughter, is set in northern Italy, and in The Liberated Bride the character who seems to embody the writer’s father, the historian Yaakov Yehoshua, is a Piedmontese Jew, Professor Tedeschi.

Cartoon published in La Repubblica. The text reads: The only concrete, non-rhetorical remedy is equality: to be all citizens. To Avraham Yehoshua, great storyteller and man of peace. Photo, Beryl Caizzi

Today, the daily La Repubblica devoted two full pages to his memory. The newspaper’s editor, Maurizio Molinari, and the specialist on Israel and the Jewish question, Wlodek Golkorn, speak of him with emotion as a close friend who will be missed by them, by the newspaper’s readers and by the many Italians who had the chance to meet him at literary events. His affinities are of course due to the Mediterranean culture of mixing. Less predictable is the hypothesis put forward by Maurizio Molinari, who draws a parallel between the Zionist adventure and the Italian Risorgimento, a late and laborious process that still does not seem to be completed in a country of emigration, multilingual, divided and difficult to understand in its heterogeneity. “To be Italian” is still not self-evident today. On both sides, these uncertainties are undoubtedly fruitful.

Strangely enough, when I heard of his death, my heart sank and I wondered in which bed he had died, he who so loved to have his characters sleep in beds of chance. To sleep away from home, he said, is to be able to abandon oneself, to rely on others. Strengthened by this trust, the hosts watch over the stranger’s sleep. It is therefore with these words that I would like to greet him and his characters that I have so much enjoyed following in their incessant wanderings: And I go to bed proud to have lived and to have suffered in some one besides myself. [1]”.


Béryl Caizzi.

Rome, June 15, 2022

Notes

1 Charles Baudelaire, Windows

Support us!

You can help us
Donate

With the support of:

Thanks to the Paris office of the Heinrich Böll Foundation for their cooperation in the design of the magazine’s website.

A. B. Yehoshua

In Memoriam

Yehoshua est mort le mardi 14 juin à l’âge de 85 ans et il est difficile de ne pas avoir le sentiment que nous approchons de la fin d’une époque. Celle d’Aharon Appelfeld (1932-2018), d’Amos Oz (1938-2018) et d’A.B. Yehoshua (1936-2022), qui ont incarné une génération de lions de la littérature israélienne, lesquels n’étaient pas seulement de grands écrivains. Cette génération représentait aussi la conscience morale d’une nation qu’ils ont vu naître.

Beryl Caizzi, qui avait écrit pour K. un texte à partir de La mariée libérée de Yehoshua – à lire ICI – nous envoie, le cœur serré, une lettre en hommage à cet écrivain qu’elle aime.

 

Yehoshua devant les toits de Rome

 

« La politesse et la sympathie nous gâtent. Une conversation profitable est impossible, tant les gens sont conciliants et résolus à tomber d’accord avec vous. Que d’amabilité et de résignation dans une causerie ! J’aimerais rencontrer chez un homme de la bizarrerie agressive ; alors, nous pourrions jouer à l’hôte et à l’étranger et nous rafraîchir mutuellement. Il peut arriver à un homme de se noyer et de sombrer entièrement dans les bonnes manières. Les milles individus que je vois, je les aborde navré, et seulement pour les quitter, car je ne puis espérer la moindre rudesse de leur part. Un homme grognon, original, un homme mal dressé – voilà de l’espérance. »

H. D. Thoreau, Journal, 1851.

 

L’écrivain Avraham B. Yehoshua est mort mardi 14 juin, en Israël, à l’âge de quatre-vingt-cinq ans.

Difficile sans doute de faire un éloge, même funèbre, d’un homme qui cherchait aussi peu à plaire et prenait presque systématiquement l’Histoire à rebrousse poil.

A l’instar du président, du premier ministre et du ministre de la culture israéliens, nous pourrions nous concentrer exclusivement sur ses talents littéraires, rappeler le nombre de langues dans lesquelles ont été traduits ses romans, les nombreux prix qui lui ont été décernés.

Sioniste et arabisant, chantre du mariage et de la famille et féministe revendiqué, écrivain polyglotte et cosmopolite et pourfendeur de la diaspora, Yehoshua ne se laisse enfermer dans aucune case. Déjà très âgé, il renonça même à l’idée qu’il avait défendu pendant des décennies, “la solution à deux États”, pour promouvoir “un État commun” aux Israéliens et aux Palestiniens, revirement qui entraîna une dispute avec son ami de toujours, Amos Oz.

Et pourtant, aucune de ces postures, de ces prises de position ne semble être le fruit d’un goût pour la provocation, l’exposition médiatique ou les modes du moment. Comme les personnages de ses romans, Yehoshua cherche inlassablement : il cherche à comprendre les causes des conflits intimes et collectifs, il cherche la vérité des êtres, il cherche des solutions et ce, jusqu’à son dernier souffle. Que l’on partage ou non les conclusions de ses recherches, une telle persévérance, une telle obstination dans le questionnement force l’admiration.

Qu’il prête sa plume à un jeune Arabe israélien dans L’amant, qu’il fasse l’éloge des Juifs pieux qui permettent à un déserteur de fuir le front ou que l’un de ses personnages, un vieux professeur, se dispute au téléphone avec un représentant en aspirateur qui demande à parler à sa femme et qui refuse de lui vanter les qualités d’un produit dont il est pourtant l’utilisateur principal dans son foyer, jamais le lecteur ne doute de la véracité du propos.

Yehoshua semble ne pas éprouver le besoin de retrancher, de policer, de produire un ensemble cohérent et transparent. Ce faisant, sans jamais proposer de schémas d’identification facile, il offre une liberté incomparable au lecteur, celle de plonger dans la pluralité des mondes.

J’écris d’Italie, pays que Yehoshua considérait comme sa seconde patrie et où ses lecteurs non israéliens étaient les plus nombreux. L’action de son dernier roman, La fille unique, se déroule au nord de l’Italie et, dans La mariée libérée, le personnage qui semble incarner le père de l’écrivain, l’historien Yaakov Yehoshua, est un Juif piémontais, le professeur Tedeschi. 

Dessin paru dans La Repubblica. Le texte dit : Le seul remède concret, non rhétorique, c’est l’égalité : être tous citoyens. A Avraham Yehoshua, grand narrateur et homme de paix. Photo, Beryl Caizzi

Aujourd’hui, le quotidien La Repubblica lui consacre deux pleines pages. Le directeur du journal, Maurizio Molinari, et le spécialiste d’Israël et du fait juif, Wlodek Golkorn, en parlent avec émotion comme d’un ami intime qui leur manquera ainsi qu’aux lecteurs du journal et aux nombreux Italiens qui ont eu la chance de le rencontrer lors d’événements littéraires. Ses affinités tiennent bien sûr à la culture méditerranéenne du brassage. Moins prévisible est l’hypothèse avancée par Maurizio Molinari qui établit un parallèle entre l’aventure sioniste et le Risorgimento italien, processus tardif et laborieux qui ne semble toujours pas achevé dans un pays d’émigration, multilingue, divisé et difficile à comprendre dans son hétérogénéité. “Etre Italien” n’a encore aujourd’hui rien d’une évidence. De part et d’autre, ces incertitudes sont sans doute fécondes.

Bizarrement, à l’annonce de sa mort, le cœur serré, je me suis demandée dans quel lit il était mort, lui qui aimait tant à faire dormir ses personnages dans des lits de hasard. Dormir hors de chez soi, disait-il, c’est être capable de s’abandonner, de s’en remettre à autrui. Forts de cette confiance, les hôtes veillent sur le sommeil de l’étranger. C’est donc par ces paroles que je voudrais le saluer, lui et ses personnages que j’ai tant aimé suivre dans leurs incessantes pérégrinations : “Et je me couche, fier d’avoir vécu et souffert dans d’autres que moi-même.[1].


Béryl Caizzi.

Rome, le 15 juin 2022

 

Notes

1 Charles Baudelaire, Les fenêtres, Le spleen de Paris.

Soutenez-nous !

Le site fonctionne grâce à vos dons, vous pouvez nous aider
Faire un don

Avec le soutien de :

Merci au bureau de Paris de la Fondation Heinrich Böll pour leur coopération dans la conception du site de la revue.

Merci au mahJ de nous permettre d’utiliser sa photothèque, avec le voyage visuel dans l’histoire du judaïsme qu’elle rend possible.