Rothenburg

“Rothenburg” is taken from the original Yiddish short story collection The Secret of Polar Bears (Der sod fun vayse berne, Tel Aviv, 2017) for which its author, Ber Kotlerman, received the Hirsh and Dvora Rosenfeld Award for Yiddish Literature. It can be read in its original Yiddish version here : ראָמאַנטישע שטר אַסע

 

Samuel Bak, 1976, Jewish Landscape (c) Wikiart

 

Rothenburg’s multiple roofs and towers, encircled by a wide serrated wall, presented an architectural ensemble of harmonious perfection, attractive even from a distance.  The first rays of the rising sun, illuminating the town from the east, blazed like a giant red bonfire from which exploded, here and there, long flaming tongues of cupolas and towers.  The nearer the fire, the more intensely it blazed.  Occupying more and more space, it eventually permeated heaven and earth before suddenly breaking apart into distinct architectural elements – balconies, windows, cornices, eaves ….

Along the length of the city wall snaked an enormous rampart, overgrown with long dry grasses. Its earthen mass concealed a deep moat.  Two iron chains also bore witness to the existence of this moat, and on these chains, at the entrance to the massive gate, was suspended a bridge made of coarse wooden beams.

Despite the early hour, the gate already stood wide open.  A monk stuck his closely shaven tonsure out of an embrasure in the city wall.  He rolled the wide sleeves of his black cassock up to his shoulders, and carefully hoisted up on a rope a pail of water filled to the brim. Unexpectedly, a ray of sunshine jumped off the halberd of a watchman in a pointy helmet, and clamoured up onto the wall.

Its wooden wheels clattering on the cobblestone road, a wagon covered with a grey-coloured canopy, emerged from the gate.  For a moment the curious eyes of a little boy in a clown hat peered out of the wagon.  Toward the wagon streamed a colourful crowd – men and women looking like peasants in coarsely woven clothing with baskets and sacks on their backs.  This morning the people were hurrying into town faster than usual.  Rothenburg was preparing for its market, famous throughout all of Lower Bavaria.

Blending in with the crowd, we walked past the guards at the gate, and through a narrow side street out onto a spacious market square.  Dense shadows, hiding in the corners of the square and the narrow passageways between the houses, slowly dispersed, driven by the force of the sun rising above the town.  Standing facing the sun, we put down our blue velvet bags on a stone bench.  Embroidered on the bags in gold thread was a golden city surrounded by a wall, over which a golden sun was rising.

On a platform in the centre of the square, smoke wafted from a cast iron pot with food cooking inside.  With a single blow of his axe, a peasant with a fan-shaped beard chopped a thick chunk of wood off a gigantic log, and threw it into the fire.   As the flame burned more intensely, we were reminded of the age-old lament:  “Ask, O you who are burned in fire.”[1]

We untied our bags and took out white rectangular blue-striped linen shawls with long tassels in the corners and short tassels along the sides.  Reciting a blessing, we wrapped them over our heads for a moment, and then threw the upper part of the linen shawl over our backs like a hood.

Nimble waiters, wearing cotton shirts belted with simple twine, were placing wooden tables in front of the countless inns and taverns.

From our open black mother of pearl cases we took out two small leather boxes with long black leather straps.  Each of us placed one little box on our left arms and the second above our eyes, letting the straps fall on either side of our necks over our chests.  Then we returned to the first little box and began to wrap the strap around the left arm down to the palm.

A bare-chested man in tight black trousers was demarcating a small market stall with some rope.

Our eyes closed due to the sun, we wrapped our middle finger with a triple ring.  Thus, we were betrothed forever unto the Creator in righteousness and in justice, in love and in compassion; we were betrothed unto the Creator in faithfulness.[2]  In our stubborn desire to know Him, we kept on calling:  Hear O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is One!

On the peasant wagons in the market square their owners lovingly displayed their wares.

The violet ball of the flaming sun had risen behind our closed eyelids.  This elusive violet ball remained next to the real sun even after we had opened our eyes – and around us we could already vaguely discern the Rothenburg Jews in white prayer shawls.  Their heads were wrapped in prayer shawls so that it was impossible to see their faces.  In vain did we search among them for Rabbi Meir Ben Barukh and Rabbi Asher Ben Yehiel.  No doubt we were late.  Perhaps the honourable rabbis had long since left for Magentza[3], and Rabbi Meir had already died in Duke Albrecht’s prison after having forbidden the invocation on his behalf of the duty to ransom prisoners, and Rabbi Asher had fled with his sons to Toledo.  The Rothenburg Jews swayed rhythmically and very indistinctly murmured something unfamiliar.  Only from time to time could be heard the frightening refrain: “l’olam ul’almei almaya – May His great name be blessed forever and to all eternity”.[4]

Finally we were successful in deciphering some of their mutterings, which ascended ever higher, with fear and awe, until they suffused the market square and the spaces between the houses, all the way up to the violet sun.  Gradually the sounds and phrases began transforming themselves into words, and the words became a strange prayer, as though Rabbi Meir had wanted to express in them his longing.  It even seemed to us that we were beginning to grasp all the secrets sealed inside them:

To us God was meant to offer the Torah  And afterward to destroy it by fire That was the reason that God chose Mount Sinai  So he could uplift you and then dispossess you Long shall I weep and shed bitter tears  Until a river of tears shall appear  Reaching all the way up to your two chosen heroes Laid to rest on Mount Hor, Aaron and Moses  And then I shall ask them these loyal and dear ones If they have already prepared a new Torah  If you have become completely redundant  And that was why God burned you in fury  How can food taste sweet to my palate  When I saw how they took you Through dark streets and alleys And shamed you and burned God’s most cherished possession The Creator in Heaven will yet console you He shall gather the tribes, raise up the downtrodden  In garments of silk you shall be adorned You shall take up the timbrel and dance with great joy  And proud shall I be when God lights up the new And the darkness of night shall vanish from view

In the house across from us a window opened, and a woman in a white bonnet stuck out her head.  She looked back and forth, before suddenly, as though not noticing the men at prayer, emptying all the contents of her clay pot directly below her.  She then immediately closed the shutters, and disappeared.  Expecting an annoyed reaction, we looked at the Rothenburg Jews, but they, too, had already gone.  In a good-sized puddle on the cobblestone ground, potato peelings frolicked in the sun’s reflections.

The strange clock on the façade of a tavern struck sonorously, and the portly figurine of Rothenburg’s former burgermeister suddenly emerged.  Before returning into the clock, he proceeded to swallow a whole meistertrunk of Mosel wine, thus saving the town – for the umpteenth time – from destruction during the Thirty Years’ War.

Fluttering in the wind high above us was a banner with gigantic letters: “Welcome to Rothenburg’s Medieval Festival!


Ber Kotlerman

Translated from the Yiddish by Vivian Felsen

 

Ber Kotlerman, professor of Yiddish literature and culture at Bar Ilan University in Israel, belongs to the new “unorthodox” generation of Yiddish writers. He spent his childhood in Birobidzhan, the Jewish autonomous region in the Russian Far East, where his family emigrated after the Holocaust. From the late 1990s to the early 2000s, he was director of the Yiddish Writers and Journalists Association in Israel and the Israeli representative of the New York Yiddish “Forverts”. Since 1999, he has contributed to various Yiddish periodicals in the United States, Israel, Poland and France. A year ago, a new Yiddish book by Kotlerman was published in London, this time a suspenseful story about Jewish life in China, “Forsaken” (“Di opgeshtoysene”). Ber Kotlerman received the Hirsh and Dvora Rosenfeld Award for Yiddish Literature for his collection of original Yiddish short stories entitled “The Secret of Polar Bears” (“Der sod fun vayse bern”, Tel Aviv, 2017) from which the short story “Rothenburg” is excerpted.

Notes

1 From the elegy by the 13th century Rabbi  Meir of Rothenburg  entitled “Sha’ali serufa ba’esh” (“Ask, O You Who Are Burned in Fire”) to commemorate the  Paris Talmud Burning of 1244  when hundreds of Jewish manuscripts were burned by Christian clergy. It is recited by Ashkenazic Jews on the fast of Tisha B’av.
2 From Hosea 2: 21-22.

Support us!

You can help us
Donate

See also

With the support of:

Thanks to the Paris office of the Heinrich Böll Foundation for their cooperation in the design of the magazine’s website.

Rothenburg

« Rothenburg » est extraite du recueil de nouvelles originales en yiddish The Secret of Polar Bears (Der sod fun vayse berne, Tel Aviv, 2017) pour lequel son auteur, Ber Kotlerman, a reçu le prix Hirsh et Dvora Rosenfeld pour la littérature yiddish. Elle peut être lue dans sa version originale en yiddish ici : ראָמאַנטישע שטר אַסע

 

Samuel Bak, 1976, Jewish Landscape (c) Wikiart

 

Innombrables, les toits et tourelles de Rothenburg, encerclés d’une muraille crénelée, présentaient un ensemble architectural séducteur, dont l’harmonie sans défaut charmait les yeux plusieurs lieues à la ronde. Les premiers rayons du soleil levant avaient allumé dans la ville, depuis l’Orient, un bûcher flamboyant, d’où s’envolaient ici et là des langues de feu, comme des tours ou des coupoles. Plus on s’approchait, plus la flamme semblait éclatante : elle gagnait du terrain, engloutissait le ciel et la terre puis finalement se brisait en éléments disparates – balcons, fenêtres, corniches, gouttières…

Tout autour des murs de la ville serpentaient de puissants remparts de terre, envahis de hautes herbes sèches. Ces remparts cachaient de leur corps terreux un profond fossé. On ne s’avisait de l’existence de ce dernier qu’à la vue de deux chaînes de fer auxquelles était suspendu, devant une gigantesque porte d’entrée, un pont fait de rondins de bois grossièrement attachés.

Malgré l’heure matinale, la porte était déjà grand ouverte. Un moine à la tonsure rasée de près surgit d’une embrasure dans la muraille de la ville. Il retroussa les larges manches de sa robe noire jusqu’aux épaules et se mit à tirer consciencieusement sur une corde pour remonter un seau rempli d’eau à ras bord.

Une tâche de soleil sauta sans qu’on s’y attende de la hallebarde d’un garde casqué de toile pour s’encourir en-haut du mur.

Battant de ses ailes de bois la route pavée, un chariot sortit par la grande porte, recouvert d’une bâche d’un gris sale. L’espace d’un instant en jaillit le regard curieux d’un petit garçon coiffé d’un chapeau de lutin. De l’autre côté, une foule colorée s’écoulait – des hommes et des femmes qui avaient l’air de paysans, vêtus de costumes sommairement tissés, avec des sacs et des paniers sur le dos. Ce matin, les gens se pressaient d’entrer au plus vite dans la ville. Rothenburg s’apprêtait pour sa célèbre foire, renommée dans toute la Basse-Bavière.

Nous nous glissâmes dans la foule et passâmes la porte devant les gardes puis, après avoir emprunté une petite rue étroite qui partait sur le côté, nous débouchâmes sur la vaste place du marché. Les ombres épaisses tapies aux coins de la place et dans les passages efflanqués entre les maisons disparaissaient peu à peu, reculant régulièrement sous les assauts du soleil qui se levait sur la ville. Nous tenant face au soleil, nous posâmes sur un banc de pierre nos sacoches de velours bleu. Elles étaient brodées au fil d’or du dessin d’une ville dorée entourée d’un mur et sur laquelle se levait un soleil doré.

Juste au milieu de la place, sur des tréteaux, fumait une marmite en fonte dans laquelle cuisait une sorte de ragoût. Un paysan à la barbe en éventail découpa d’un coup de hache une large bûche sur un billot colossal et la jeta dans le feu. La flamme devint plus vive et nous nous rappelâmes l’antique lamentation « Questionne, toi qui brûles dans le feu »[1].

Nous défîmes les lacets de nos sacoches et en sortîmes des morceaux d’étoffe rectangulaires, rayés de bleu, avec de longs fils aux quatre coins et des franges courtes sur les longueurs. Tout en récitant des bénédictions, nous les enroulâmes pour un instant autour de nos têtes à la manière de turbans, puis nous en rejetâmes la partie supérieure derrière nos épaules, comme une capuche.

D’agiles garçons en chemise de coton nouée de ficelle brute installèrent des tables de bois devant les innombrables gargotes et tavernes.

Nous déroulâmes hors de leurs sombres étuis de nacre deux petites boîtes de cuir entourées de longues lanières noires. Chacun d’entre nous fixa l’une de ces deux petites boîtes sur son bras gauche et la deuxième au-dessus de ses yeux, en laissant pendre les lanières des deux côtés sur sa poitrine. Ensuite, chacun retourna à la première des deux boîtes et se ceignit le bras gauche jusqu’à la paume.

Un homme nu jusqu’à la taille, en étroits pantalons noirs, entourait son petit étal d’une barrière de ficelle.

Les yeux fermés à cause du soleil, nous enroulâmes notre majeur d’un triple anneau. Ainsi nous fiancions-nous à jamais dans le Discernement et la Justice, l’Amour et la Compassion, dans la foi. Obstinés à révéler le Créateur, nous appelions encore et encore : Ecoute Israël, l’Eternel est notre Dieu, l’Eternel est Un !

Sur la place du marché, marchandes et marchands installaient avec amour leurs produits sur des charrettes rustiques.

La sphère violette du soleil flamboyant montait sous nos paupières fermées. Cette sphère violette et floue persista aux côtés du véritable soleil même après que nous eûmes rouvert les yeux – autour de nous, des juifs de Rothenburg nébuleux étaient debout dans leurs taliths blancs. Ils s’en étaient couvert la tête, de sorte qu’on ne pouvait voir leurs visages. Nous cherchâmes en vain à reconnaître parmi eux rabbi Meir fils de Baroukh et rabbi Asher fils de Yehiel. Nous étions sûrement arrivés en retard ; peut-être les honorables maîtres étaient-ils depuis longtemps partis pour Magentza et rabbi Meir avait-il déjà péri dans la geôle du Duc Albrecht après avoir interdit que l’on s’acquitte pour le libérer du devoir de rançon, et peut-être rabbi Asher et ses fils avaient-ils fui déjà pour Tolède. Les juifs de Rothenburg se balançaient en rythme et murmuraient dans un chuchotement sourd des paroles inconnues. Parfois seulement on entendait le refrain formidable : A jamais et pour tous les temps des mondes…

Finalement, nous parvînmes à saisir quelque chose de leur bourdonnement, qui s’élevait dans la terreur et l’épouvante de plus en plus haut, emplissant la place du marché et les espaces entre les maisons – jusqu’à la sphère violette. Peu à peu, les clameurs et les combinaisons kabbalistiques se mirent à former des mots, et ces mots devinrent une prière étrange, on eût dit que rabbi Meir y coulait sa langueur. Nous eûmes tous l’impression de nous trouver sur le point de comprendre les secrets scellés en elle –

Dieu a dû se tourner vers nous avec la Torah
Pour pouvoir ensuite la détruire par le feu
C’est pourquoi Dieu a choisi pour toi le Mont Sinai
Afin de t’élever et ensuite de te rejeter
Je continuerai longtemps de pleurer ainsi et de verser des larmes
Jusqu’à ce qu’un fleuve naisse de ces larmes
Et jusqu’à ce qu’il atteigne tes deux seigneurs qui reposent au Mont Hor
Moïse et Aaron et je leur demanderai
A ces êtres chers et dévoués
S’ils ont une nouvelle Torah déjà prête
Es-tu déjà devenue complètement superflue
Dieu t’a-t-il pour cette raison brûlée avec rage
Comment la nourriture peut-elle conserver pour moi
La douceur de son goût tandis que j’ai vu
Comme on t’a emmenée quelque part dans une rue
Sur des chemins obscurs et l’on t’a humiliée
On a brûlé ce qui appartenait à Dieu
Le berger des cieux te consolera encore
Il rassemblera les tribus
Il relèvera ceux qui sont tombés
Tu te pareras de vêtements de soie
Tu t’empareras d’un tambourin et du danseras dans la joie
Et je serai fier lorsque Dieu fera briller à nouveau sa lumière
Et la nuit disparaîtra…

Une fenêtre s’ouvrit à la maison juste en face, une femme y apparut en coiffe blanche. Elle regarda autour d’elle et, comme si elle n’avait pas vu les hommes en prière, elle renversa vivement tout le contenu d’un pot de faïence. Puis elle referma immédiatement le volet et disparut. Nous attendant à une réaction fâchée de leur part, nous nous tournâmes vers les juifs de Rothenburg, mais eux aussi s’étaient dissipés. Dans une petite flaque sur le pavé, des pelures de pommes de terre jouaient avec les rayons du soleil.

Depuis la façade d’une auberge à côté de l’Hôtel de Ville, on entendit sonner une bizarre horloge d’où surgit en automate ventru l’ancien maire de Rothenburg. Levant une main de maître, il but d’un coup toute une cruche de vin de Moselle, sauvant ainsi pour la énième fois la ville de la destruction pendant la guerre Trente ans.

Très haut au-dessus de nous, une banderole claquait dans le vent, portant en gigantesques caractères : « Bienvenue à la parade médiévale ! »


Ber Kotlerman

Traduit du yiddish par Macha Fogel

Ber Kotlerman, professeur de littérature et de culture yiddish à l’université Bar Ilan, en Israël, appartient à la nouvelle génération « non orthodoxe » d’auteurs yiddish. Il a passé son enfance au Birobidzhan, la région autonome juive de l’Extrême-Orient russe, où sa famille a émigré après la Shoah. De la fin des années 1990 au début des années 2000, il a été directeur de l’Association des écrivains et journalistes yiddish en Israël et représentant israélien des New York Yiddish Forverts. Depuis 1999, il collabore à divers périodiques yiddish aux États-Unis, en Israël, en Pologne et en France. Il y a un an, un nouveau livre en yiddish de Kotlerman a été publié à Londres, cette fois une histoire à suspense sur la vie juive en Chine, Forsaken (Di opgeshtoysene). Ber Kotlerman a reçu le prix Hirsh et Dvora Rosenfeld pour la littérature yiddish pour son recueil de nouvelles originales en yiddish intitulé The Secret of Polar Bears (Der sod fun vayse bern, Tel Aviv, 2017) dont est extrait la nouvelle « Rothenburg »

Notes

1 Extrait de l’élégie du rabbin Meir de Rothenburg du 13e siècle intitulée « Sha’ali serufa ba’esh » (« Demande, ô toi qui es brûlé dans le feu ») pour commémorer la destruction du Talmud de Paris en 1244, lorsque des centaines de manuscrits juifs ont été brûlés par le clergé chrétien. Il est récité par les Juifs ashkénazes le jour du jeûne de Tisha B’av.

Soutenez-nous !

Le site fonctionne grâce à vos dons, vous pouvez nous aider
Faire un don

Avec le soutien de :

Merci au bureau de Paris de la Fondation Heinrich Böll pour leur coopération dans la conception du site de la revue.

Merci au mahJ de nous permettre d’utiliser sa photothèque, avec le voyage visuel dans l’histoire du judaïsme qu’elle rend possible.